The Hike of Doom

Yesterday I arrived in Minnesota safely and it didn’t take long for my brother, Davey, to call me up and ask when we were going to complete his “Hike of Doom.” I’ll pretty much try anything so we set off for the Interstate Park between Minnesota and Wisconsin. Shortly after we started out I learned that I had been….misinformed about the length of the “Hike of Doom” I thought that it was 2 hours but instead I learned that it would take, “less than 5 hours…..hopefully?”

My brother is Crazy Exercise Man, I’m talking 60 miles bikes rides, swimming across lakes multiple times, running for hours, totally crazy. I wasn’t sure if I would be able to last the whole time but I figured that I try. We hiked a while on the Wisconsin side, made our way over to the Minnesota side and then back to the Wisconsin side where we traipsed over pretty much every possible hiking path.

ISt. Croix River

I actually did pretty well considering that I am  not even close to being in as good of shape as Davey. I only had to stop a few times to let my heart rate settle down a bit, it got up to 195 a few times. Thankfully the day was beautiful and not too hot. We got rained on for about 20 minutes but it felt pretty nice, although it made some of the rocks slippery for a while.

Lake

Davey, Squeekor and Mona

By the time we were done we had clocked in at 4 hours and 30 minutes. After we were done we went to a gas station for water. Water never tasted so good, let me tell ya. I was definitely feeling the hike by the time I went to bed so I took an Advil before going to bed. I am not sure if that helped or not but I was relatively pain free this morning, a little stiff but for the most part  I was good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

